Moments that Matter: August 2014 Edition

SONY DSC

I guess it’s about time I post the August edition of Moments that Matter, right? Since it’s already the middle of September and everything! (How on earth did that happen? Wasn’t it just the beginning of summer yesterday??)

In case you’re a new reader, here’s the scoop- this monthly series will give an up close look at what life on the Chesapeake Bay is all about. Through photos of our adventures, our family, and scenes from the Bay area, we hope to give you a taste of what inspires us (and our food).

So without further ado, here’s a look back at the month of August and all of our adventures!

Yeehaw! We went to the rodeo and saw some great barrel racing and bull riding.

Yeehaw! We went to the rodeo and saw some great barrel racing and bull riding.

Sleepy boy skipped his nap in favor pf his first watermelon. He loved it!

This sleepy boy skipped his nap in favor of his first watermelon. He loved it!

This cutie pie helped make his own pizza one night for dinner. I think more sauce ended up on the floor than on the pizza!

This cutie pie helped make his own pizza one night for dinner. More sauce ended up on the floor than the pizza!

We were so excited to go to the Peach Festival at Godfrey's Farm in Sudlersville on August 9th. Except, guess what? I messed up the dates and we went on August 10th! There was no festival (of course) but we made a great afternoon of it any way.

We were so excited to go to the Peach Festival at Godfrey’s Farm in Sudlersville on August 9th. Except, guess what? I messed up the dates and we went on August 10th! There was no festival (of course) but we made a great afternoon of it any way.

We spent a gorgeous late summer evening at the Bowie Baysox baseball game.

We spent a gorgeous late summer evening at the Bowie Baysox baseball game.

Holy jalapenos! My plant was overloaded with peppers.

Holy jalapenos! My plant was overloaded with peppers.

I finally got to try stand up paddleboarding and I LOVED it! My mom took me out for my first lesson and I can't wait to go again.

I finally got to try stand up paddleboarding and I LOVED it! My mom took me out for my first lesson and I can’t wait to go again.

Omelette anyone?  Spotted these beautiful farm fresh eggs while visiting the Queen Anne's County 4-H Fair on the Eastern Shore.

Omelette anyone? Spotted these farm fresh eggs while visiting the Queen Anne’s County Fair on the Eastern Shore.

We went crabbing! Best day of the summer!

We went crabbing! Best day of the summer!

Captain Christin, cruising the Chesapeake Bay!

Captain Christin, cruising the Chesapeake Bay!

Go O's! Shaun and I went to an Oriole's game. It was at least 10,000 degrees in Baltimore that day, but getting to see a grand slam made up for the heat!

Go O’s! Shaun and I went to an Oriole’s game. It was at least 10,000 degrees in Baltimore that day, but getting to see a grand slam made up for the heat!

You've seen the "smile and look happy for the camera" version of his back to school photo, but this is how he actually felt about kindergarten :)

You’ve seen the “smile and look happy for the camera” version of his back to school photo, but this is how he actually felt about kindergarten 🙂

sig1

About bluecrabmartini

I'm a veggie growing, wine drinking, Maryland mom, with a passion for real food and life by the Chesapeake Bay. Check out my blog: www.bluecrabmartini.com
This entry was posted in Life on the Chesapeke and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moments that Matter: August 2014 Edition

  1. Jen @ Driftwood Gardens says:

    Looks like August was a fabulously fun month down there on the Chesapeake! Your son’s face is absolutely priceless and I love your idea of having him hold up the sign!

    • Thanks Jen! It was a great month, but definitely a hectic one with the stat of school. He’s adjusting well and we’re getting used to the new schedule, so things are back to normal for now 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  2. This looks fabulous! What a great reminder to take a step back and enjoy your city.

  3. I like the idea of celebrating things that matter. I capture so many precious (to our family) moments in photos. I think I will start turning them into photo albums to save for my children.

  4. Kira T says:

    Love your pictures. It looks like you had a great month. I can’t believe it’s already mid September!

Leave a Reply

