The Ultimate Pie Crust- Made with Coconut Oil!

The Ultimate Pie Crust- Made with Coconut Oil from www.bluecrabmartini.com
When it comes to baking, I’m more of a cake and cupcake kind of gal. It’s not because I don’t love a good lemon meringue pie or a sweet french macaron, but some desserts are down right intimidating, especially for a self-taught baker like me!

Despite my trepidation, this summer’s abundance of fresh picked fruit forced me to step out of my baking comfort zone. We have been strawberry picking, blueberry picking, and this weekend we are going peach picking over on the Eastern Shore. There’s only so many things you can do with gallons and gallons of fresh fruit before you have to make a pie! So make a pie I did!

Peach Pie with Coconut Oil Pie Crust from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

I think it’s the fear of having a pie crust catastrophe that has held me (and countless others) back from baking pies. The crust is such an important part of a pie, and if it falls short of perfection, the whole pie is a disaster. I’m pretty sure that this fear of failure is what keeps the store bought pie crust industry afloat (you know the ones I’m talking about- crumbly, freezer burned, factory processed, and tasteless). I for one, think that summer’s sweet peaches deserve better than that, don’t you?!

The Ultimate Pie Crust- Made with Coconut Oil! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

This pie crust recipe was another one of my gluten free baking experiments (you can read about my cake baking experiment here). Fortunately, this is an experiment that turned out even better than I could have imagined! It’s everything a pie crust should be- rich, tasty, and oh-so-buttery. But this pie crust also has a secret, it contains absolutely no shortening or butter! The melt-in-your-mouth buttery flavor is achieved by using coconut oil, a much healthier alternative.

That’s right, it’s time to ditch the Crisco once and for all! Unless you have horses, because then you can use it on their hooves in the winter to keep the snow from compacting around their shoes. In case you’re wondering how I know this fabulous factoid, well I really have done that before!! But that’s a long story- one that involves about 6″ of snow and a drill Sargent of a riding instructor- and today we’re talking pie not ponies 🙂 So unless you plan to go horseback riding in the middle of a blizzard (and I’m bettin’ you aren’t), go ahead and toss that Crisco.

If you’ve been fearful of pie baking, like I was, then I hope this easy coconut oil crust recipe gives you the confidence you need to pop on your oven mitts and go for it! Happy baking!

Blueberry Pie with coconut oil pie crust from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

Coconut Oil Pie Crust
(recipe makes enough for one 9″ pie crust only, double amounts if you want to include toppings such as lattice pieces or cut-out shapes)

INGREDIENTS
1 1/2 cups all purpose gluten free flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
1/2 cup coconut oil (in solid, room temperature form- not melted!)
1 1/2 Tbsp coconut sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
4-5 Tbsp of cold water

DIRECTIONS
1. In a large bowl, mix and sift together your dry ingredients.
2. Next, mix in the coconut oil until a dough-like substance is formed (it’s easiest to use your hands for this part!)
3. Mix in the water 1 Tbsp at a time with a fork, until the dough is moist but not saturated.
4. Using your hands, form a ball with the dough, then wrap it in plastic wrap.
5. Place in the refrigerator for at least 3-4 hours (I usually let mine hang out over night).
6. Remove the dough from the fridge and let it sit out at room temperature for a0-60 minutes. Note: once the dough has been chilled in the fridge, the coconut oil will return to being a solid and the dough will be hard. Don’t panic! It will quickly return to room temperature and be pliable.
7. On a clean work surface, sprinkle a little more of the GF all purpose flour.
8. Gently roll out the dough using a rolling pin (you may need to flour that too).
9. Place dough into pie dish carefully. It may not stay in one solid piece when you try to transfer it, but it easily molds back together when you press the pieces together with your hands.
10. Fill with your desired pie filling.
11. Top with lattice pieces or cut-out shapes, if desired.
12. Bake according to the type of pie you are making. Also, when baking your pie, be sure to wrap the outer edges with tin foil so that they do not burn (I learned this one the hard way!)

Coconut Oil Pie Crust from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

About bluecrabmartini

I'm a veggie growing, wine drinking, Maryland mom, with a passion for real food and life by the Chesapeake Bay. Check out my blog: www.bluecrabmartini.com
This entry was posted in Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Ultimate Pie Crust- Made with Coconut Oil!

  1. I have heard so much about using coconut oil to bake with. I bought some a couple months ago and still haven’t opened it. I will have to give this pie crust a try for the strawberries we have around.

  2. I have never made my own pie crust.. not counting the graham cracker crust.. and I never thought to make it with Coconut Oil. I RT for ya.

  3. I am going to pin this one! I would not have thought of using coconut oil. Thanks for sharing.

  4. salvagesista says:

    I use coconut oil for lots so it makes sense to use it here. Glad it works so well.

  5. Regan says:

    Interesting! I use coconut oil for a lot of things but I have never considered using it for my pie crust. I will definitely have to give it a try!

  6. huntfortheverybest says:

    it looks wonderful!

  7. fromthegardentable says:

    You did a great job! I can totally relate. I love to bake but pie crusts are my #1 intimidator!

  8. Robyn says:

    Oh my gosh, Christin, you may have revolutionized the pie industry! I hate those frozen pie crusts and I never bake pies because I’m scared of them too! lol.
    I think I shy away from baking because it’s a precision sport and I’m more of a fly by the seat of your pants kinda girl. You may have changed that for me though and I would never have thought it possible. These ingredients are so inviting and I love a good fruit pie! I think I’ll take this recipe over to my sister in law and see if she’ll walk me through it cos that girl can bake! Thanks so much. 🙂

    • Thanks Robyn! I was totally afraid of baking pies before too, and those yucky frozen pie shells are just gross! I’m more of a fly by the seat of my pants girl too, but I really love baking. Maybe it’s because you can be really creative with sweet and savory flavor combinations and cute little decorations 🙂 Hope you’re having a great week!

  9. Pingback: Moments that Matter: July 2014 Edition | Blue Crab Martini

Leave a Reply

