Old Bay Hummus

Old Bay Hummus from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

I love hummus, but have you heard about all of the recent recalls of grocery store brands? Scary stuff! That’s why homemade is best- you can control the ingredients and ensure that they are of the highest quality. Plus, making your own hummus gives you a chance to be creative with different flavors and spices!

Hummus is good, but it’s over-the-top-amaaaazing with Old Bay!Β Being the Chesapeake Bay lovers that we are, Old Bay is always on hand in our house (we buy it by the gallon- no joke). So it only seemed natural to add it to hummus and create this healthy, tasty snack that our whole family enjoys. Old Bay adds a spicy boost of flavor to the rich and earthy chickpeas. This hummus has a nice balance of flavors and is not over-powering, which made it a hit, even with our kiddos. We served it with slices of organic red bell pepper and gluten free crackers, a perfect afternoon snack!

Old Bay Hummus from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

On another note, I am so excited to announce that I will be serving this Old Bay Hummus (and a few other tasty treats) at an upcoming event at Well & Good (an amazing nutrition and wellness studio). I’m so excited to attend my first event as a “blogger”! Later this month I’ll be making the drive over to Leesburg, Virginia (it’s a bit of a hike from Annapolis, but it’s worth it). Well & Good offers organic beauty products, wellness coaching, and eco spa services- all things that appeal to my health-conscious side! I will share more about the event later this month, but until then, I hope you enjoy this delicious Old Bay Hummus (and check out Well & Good too)!

Well & Good

Old Bay Hummus

INGREDIENTS:
15oz organic chickpeas (garbanzo beans), shelled
1/4 cup tahini
1/2 lemon, juiced
2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tsp + 1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning
1 clove garlic, chopped
3 Tbsp water

DIRECTIONS:
1. In a food processor, mix together the tahini and lemon juice for 1 minute. Stop and scrape the sides of the bowl and mix again for an additional 30 seconds. This will make your hummus extra smooth and creamy.
2. Add the olive oil, Old Bay seasoning, and garlic to the food processor. Mix until well combined and all ingredients are smoothly pureed, about 1-2 minutes.
3. Next, carefully add about 1/2 of the shelled chickpeas to the food processor, and mix together for 1 minute, or until the chickpeas are pureed. Then after scraping the sides of the bowl, add the remaining chickpeas and mix for about 2 minutes, making sure that all ingredients are well incorporated and the hummus is smooth (lumpy hummus would not be so tasty)!
4. If your hummus is thick, you may need to add water. With the food processor on, carefully pour in the water, 1 Tbsp at a time, until your desired consistency is reached.
5. Store in an air tight container in the refrigerator and serve with crackers, pita chips, sliced veggies, or on a sandwich. Enjoy!

About bluecrabmartini

I'm a veggie growing, wine drinking, Maryland mom, with a passion for real food and life by the Chesapeake Bay. Check out my blog: www.bluecrabmartini.com
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Old Bay Hummus

  1. Robyn says:

    It is odd that Old Bay Seasoning has never caught on in Canada but I love to use it. Sometimes though, I cannot even find it at the market! This looks delicious, Christin, and I love making my own hummus, too.
    Your first blogger conference – wow! that is going to be a blast. I have yet to attend one but I have certainly been looking around at the upcoming Fall sessions so we will see.
    Have a great time!

    • Hi Robyn!
      Your fellow Canadians don’t know what they’re missing! Old Bay is a pantry staple here in Maryland, and we put it on almost everything. I will never forget the time that we hosted two Canadian business associates and took them out for crabs… I was working at a defense contractor that was owned by a Canadian company, and our CFO & Controller frequently came down for meetings. One time, when they visited in the summer, they wanted to try real Maryland crabs. When we sat down at the restaurant and the crabs were served, they had absolutely no clue what to do with them! We all got a good laugh outta that one πŸ™‚ They loved the Old Bay seasoning that the crabs were steamed in and bought some to take home with them.

  2. Angela says:

    Everything about this recipe seems amazing! I can’t wait to try! I am a huge Well & Good Fan too….when is the event?

  3. I’m originally from the Gulf Coast and Old Bay Seasoning is a staple there as well. Shrimp, crawfish, crabs, potatoes, corn – if you can boil it, it’ll be cooked in Old Bay. I’ve never considered it in hummus, though! I make homemade hummus a lot so I’m definitely going to try this. Thanks!

    BTW, I found your blog at the Let’s Get Real Hop. Have a great day!

    • Hi there! I agree, if it can be boiled, steamed, or cooked any other way- Old Bay can go on it πŸ˜‰ Happy to connect through Let’s Get Real, have a great weekend!

  4. Jen says:

    Mmmmmmm I LOVE Old Bay! And I love spicy hummus, yet this idea never occurred to me. I pinned this and will be making it in the very near future. The Well and Good Event sounds like a lot of fun, and great exposure for your beautiful blog!

    • Thanks Jen! I hope you love the hummus! The Old Bay really gives it a nice kick, but it’s not too spicy. I am really excited about the Well & Good event! I just hope I don’t get lost on the way- it’s 2+ hours away, yikes! Hope you are having a great weekend πŸ™‚

  5. I love hummus and now I’m going to add the Old Bay to it for an even better kick. How fun to be going to a conference. When I considered starting a blog, I won a free ticket to go. I decided it was meant to be and it’s been a year of fun blogging.

  6. bakesinslippers says:

    congrats on your first event! this sounds really good actually, I would have never thought of adding old bay!

  7. katjeter says:

    I saw Old Bay in the picture and I knew you must be a fellow Maryland blogger :). This recipe looks great. I can’t wait to try it πŸ™‚

  8. Heather says:

    Yum. I love this recipe. I eat hummus almost every day so i will have to try this out

  9. fromthegardentable says:

    We love hummus in my house. But it’s been years and years since I tried making my own (pre-kids!) Very interested to see how it tastes with Old Bay.

  10. I love hummus, it’s great to use as a dip for vegetables and any type of crackers.

  11. Michelle says:

    We use Old Bay on a lot of things and I really like Hummus. This is something I must try.

  12. Hi Shaun & Christin! Visiting from Miz Helen’s Country Cottage – I’m Maryland born and bred, and just love Old Bay Hummus! I always joke that we probably Old Bay running through out blood. πŸ™‚ This looks fantastic and thanks for sharing – so happy to connect with fellow Marylanders! Pinning and hope you are having a wonderful week!

    • Hi Cindy! Happy to hear from a fellow Marylander! I agree- Old Bay certainly runs through our veins here… it just makes everything better! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  13. I love Old Bay seasoning I use it when I am cooking my shrimp. This looks really tasty I will have to try it.

  14. Jess says:

    Oh my goodness! This sounds delicious. I eat a lot of hummus due to dietary restrictions. Will be adding this to my recipes to try. Thanks!

  15. Adrienne says:

    Old Bay huh? Wow, never would have thought about that. My husband may try hummus IF I spike it with some Old Bay. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

  16. Miz Helen says:

    We will just love your Old Bay Hummus, great flavor! Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  17. Pingback: Moments that Matter: June 2014 Edition | Blue Crab Martini

Leave a Reply

