Butter Pecan Ice Cream (pssst- it’s Paleo!)

Butter Pecan Ice Cream (it's PALEO)! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

What’s your favorite kind of ice cream? Is it rocky road? Mint chocolate chip? Or perhaps a simple (but tasty) strawberry? Mine is butter pecan. Rich, creamy, indulgent, buttery ice cream with the crunch of savory pecans in every bite- heaven on a spoon!

But it wasn’t always this way. If you had asked me just a few years ago what my favorite ice cream flavor was, I likely would have rattled off the latest and greatest Ben & Jerry’s creation. I was down with anything that had enough “stuff” in it that I had to eat it with a fork (yes, yes, I really did do that)! If it had sugary caramel, marshmallow swirl, or chocolate-covered-anything, I was into it.

Butter Pecan Ice Cream (it's PALEO)! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

Maybe I’ve grown up? Maybe my tastes have changed? Or, more likely, I’ve learned to appreciate the flavors that come from simple, wholesome, fresh ingredients.Though I no longer crave the sugar-coma-inducing likes of Ben & Jerry’s, I do still have a sweet tooth!

My solution: make ice cream that is healthy, but tastes just as good (if not even better) than the store-bought brands.

That’s right, healthy ice cream! Wait, stop, I know what you’re thinking. Healthy ice cream…but, how can that be?! Ice cream is all about indulgence and richness. It’s there to soothe you when you’re sad and celebrate with you on your birthday. Surely, something this comforting must be loaded with sugary sweetness, right? Wrong.

Butter Pecan Ice Cream (it's PALEO)! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

This Butter Pecan Ice Cream will make you rethink your relationship with ice cream forever. There is no refined sugar and no artificial ingredients in this recipe. The flavors are fresh, wholesome, and come from only good-for-you ingredients. Your taste-buds won’t know the difference, but your body will!

So grab a spoon, (or a fork, if you’re weird like me), and mix up a bowl of this delicious paleo dessert the next time your sweet tooth comes a callin’. Go ahead and indulge, this is a guilt free treat!

Note: If you enjoyed this Butter Pecan recipe, you will also love our Coconut & Clementine Paleo Ice Cream!

Butter Pecan Ice Cream (it's PALEO)! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

Butter Pecan [Paleo] Ice Cream

FOR THE BUTTERED PECANS
INGREDIENTS:
1 cup pecans, chopped
3 Tbsp. organic butter
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 Tbsp. + 1 Tbsp. Organic Grade B maple syrup
Dash of Himalayan pink salt

DIRECTIONS:
1. In a medium saute pan on medium heat, add the butter and cook until golden brown.
2. Add pecans and stir gently.
3. Add in 1 Tbsp of maple syrup, and dash of salt (to taste). Β Reduce heat to low. Stir continuously while pecans begin to caramelize and soften slightly.
4. Once pecans are softened and evenly caramelized, add in the remaining 1 Tbsp. of maple syrup. Stir to combine, and remove from heat. Let cool for several minutes.
5. Let pecans chill completely in the refrigerator, about one hour.

FOR THE ICE CREAM BATTER
INGREDIENTS:
2 cans of coconut milk (full fat), at room temperature
4 Tbsp. Organic Grade B maple syrup
2 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract
2 tsp. cinnamon
Pinch of Himalayan pink salt

DIRECTIONS:
1. Add the coconut milk to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment. Whisk on high speed for about 5 minutes, or until small peaks begin to form.
2. Once the coconut milk has finished whisking, reduce the mixer speed to low and slowly add in the other ingredients. Whisk only until combined.
3. Place ice cream batter into the refrigerator for 1-2 hours, until chilled thoroughly.
4. Once chilled, pulse in a blender just prior to adding to ice cream maker. This emulsifies the ingredients and creates a smooth and creamy texture.
5. Use an ice cream mixer to freeze the batter and transform it into ice cream. Once ice cream is about 50% frozen, sprinkle in 2/3 of pecan mixture. Let ice cream continue to freeze until desired consistency is reached.
6. Serve immediately, and top with remaining pecans.

Note: If you don’t have an ice cream mixer, you can freeze the batter, stirring every 30 minutes, until the desired consistency is reached.

About bluecrabmartini

I'm a veggie growing, wine drinking, Maryland mom, with a passion for real food and life by the Chesapeake Bay. Check out my blog: www.bluecrabmartini.com
This entry was posted in Sweets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Butter Pecan Ice Cream (pssst- it’s Paleo!)

  1. Butter Pecan is my favorite ice cream. Using coconut mlik is a great alternative.

  2. natashalh says:

    I need to try this! I have plenty of coconut cream and milk on hand, I just don’t have an actual blender.

    • hmmm… do you have a food processor? Or a hand mixer? I think either would do the trick. I’ve made this before without doing the blender step, and the ice cream still turns out good, but doesn’t have the same smooth texture. Hope this helps πŸ™‚

  3. Hi! My boyfriend loves butter pecan ice cream so I’m definitely pinning this recipe and will give it a try. Ice cream is one of my guilty pleasures so I love it all… he’ll be the true test. Thanks for sharing! Visiting from Let’s Get Real.

  4. I got an ice cream maker last year and still haven’t used it. This recipe is inspiring me to change that!

    • Yay! I am so happy to give you a reason to use it πŸ™‚ Honestly, when I got mine I used it a few times and then it sat dormant for a long time. I wanted to make ice cream but didn’t want to eat tons of sugar. Once I figured this recipe out, I’ve been keeping the ice cream maker in constant use! Enjoy

  5. ibyl (@ibyl) says:

    If it’s Paleo it usually catches my attention. The ice cream looks delicious and recipe is definitely something I can follow. Thank you for sharing. I found your blog through the #ThatsFreshFriday link up.

  6. Butter Pecan Ice Cream is my absolute favorite! This looks great, I wanna have a scoop πŸ™‚
    Checking it out from show stopper saturday!
    Cathy

  7. This looks fabulous. I love Butter Pecan Ice Cream, especially your dairy free version. Now that spring is here, it will be a perfect treat. Thank you for sharing.

  8. kleinworthco says:

    Sounds amazing- I will definitely be giving this a try.

  9. Miz Helen says:

    Yes please, and a larger serving will be great!! Hope you are having a great day and thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  10. Christa says:

    Looks so yummy, I’m thinking of starting to cook Paleo and I love Butter Pecan Ice Cream, great post.

    • Thanks Christa! Making the switch to a gluten-free and (mostly) Paleo diet has been a real change for us. It takes some getting used to, especially learning to cut out the sugar. Hope you enjoy this ice cream, thanks for stopping by!

  11. My very favorite but sometime in life developed an allergy to most nuts but the minute I saw your post on Happiness is Homemade I knew I had to check it out. I’m thinking I could substitute the pecans for almonds (which I can eat). I know it wouldn’t be the same but for me it would be a real treat.

    • I think almonds would make a great substitution, especially if you chopped them up pretty small and let them soften a while longer in the maple syrup mixture. If you give it a try, let me know how it turned out! Thanks

  12. yumeating says:

    mmmm I need this after dinner tonight. Who knew making buttered pecan yourself could be healthy and so simple. It’s my favorite ice cream, too, btw.

  13. Janet D. says:

    Our new ice cream maker just came in the mail today and butter pecan is what my husband requested. Any ideas on how the pecans would work if soaked first? I usually like to soak nuts before I use them but not sure if it will ruin the texture for this recipe.
    Your recipe looks amazing and I can’t wait to try it!

    • Hi Janet! That’s a good question. To be honest, I have never tried soaking the pecans, but I would imagine that it would still work out. What kind of ice cream maker are you using? Maybe take a look in the recipe/instruction booklet that came with it to see if there are any tips in there. If you try it, please come back and let me know how it turned out… I’m curious πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

      • Janet D. says:

        I soaked the pecans overnight, drained them really well, then chopped them before making the “butter pecan” mixture. They were so good my son called them “pecan candy”! Your recipe is healthy, delicious, and simple to make! Trifecta! My husband and sons all loved it so I will definitely be making it again.
        I am using the Cuisinart ICE-30BC Pure Indulgence 2-Quart Automatic Frozen Yogurt, Sorbet, and Ice Cream Maker.

      • Hi Janet, I am so happy to hear that soaking the nuts worked out and that your family enjoyed the ice cream so much! I use a Cuisinart ice cream maker too and I just love it, works great every time. Thank you so much for coming back to share with me, made my day! Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

  14. vegetarianmamma says:

    This looks dreamy! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! πŸ™‚

    Thank you for linking up! Its because of awesome bloggers like you that our link up is a success!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  15. CJ Huang says:

    mmm- butter pecan’s one of my husband’s favorites! I’m sure he’ll be asking for it once he sees this recipe. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by Five Friday Finds last week. Hope you can make it again this week. πŸ™‚

  16. oh dear, oh, me, oh my… this looks divine. printing and making, ASAP. thank you for sharing!! πŸ™‚

  17. oh me, oh my, oh DEAR… this looks divine. thank you for sharing; pinning and printing and making, ASAP! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

