Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash with Creamy [HEALTHY] Peanut Sauce

Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash with Creamy [HEALTHY] Peanut Sauce- clean eating and delicious! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

Pad Thai is one of those dishes that I fell in love with at first bite, many years ago. The creamy peanut sauce mixed with hearty noodles and crunchy carrots- it’s comfort food at it’s finest. For the longest time, if Pad Thai was on the menu when we ate out, I would promptly order it. Needless to say, I’ve had a lot of really good (and some not so good) Pad Thai over the years!

But my love affair with Pad Thai had to come to an end. When our family transitioned to a healthier lifestyle- one that doesn’t include processed ingredients and refined carbohydrates- I gave up the heavy pasta dish for good. I still craved these amazing flavors, but wasn’t willing to sacrifice my commitment to eating ‘real food’. For a long time I tried to pretend that Pad Thai didn’t exist, but you can’t fool your taste buds!

Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash with Creamy [HEALTHY] Peanut Sauce- clean eating and delicious! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

One night while we were eating a spaghetti squash topped with marinara sauceย for dinner, it hit me- if spaghetti squash can replace the noodles in regular old spaghetti, why can’t it work in Pad Thai too?! The very next day I went to work transforming our leftover roasted spaghetti squash into an amazing lunch that rivaled any restaurant Pad Thai.

Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash with Creamy [HEALTHY] Peanut Sauce- clean eating and delicious! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

The end result was delicious and satisfying, with just the right amount of crunch in every bite. The peanut sauce is creamy with a real kick, but the best part is that it is totally healthy. There are no processed ingredients or artificial flavors here! Avocado is the secret to this sauce’s creamy texture and the organic peanut butter lends an authentic taste.

I love that it has the flavors of the peanut sauce that enticed me so many years ago, but I no longer have to feel guilty about eating it. Although this isn’t exactly ‘traditional’ Pad Thai, I think you will find this healthy version just as tasty (if not more so)!

Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash with Creamy [HEALTHY] Peanut Sauce- clean eating and delicious! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash with
Creamy [HEALTHY] Peanut Sauce

INGREDIENTS:
1 spaghetti squash, roasted*
1 organic red bell pepper, cut into small strips
1 organic carrot, julienned
3/4 cup red cabbage, shredded
1 Tbsp. organic cilantro, chopped
1 Tbsp. chopped peanuts
Lime wedges

*To roast the spaghetti squash, cut in half lengthwise and remove all seeds. Generously season with salt and pepper, and drizzle with extra virgin olive oil. Place on a foil lined baking sheet and bake in the oven at 375* for 40-50 minutes, depending on size of squash. Let cool for 10 minutes, then gently scrape the spaghetti strands out with a fork.

DIRECTIONS:
1.ย In a large bowl, combine the spaghetti squash, red pepper, carrot, and red cabbage.
2. Top with garnish of cilantro, chopped peanuts, and lime wedges.
3. Dress with peanut sauce.

FOR THE PEANUT SAUCE
INGREDIENTS:
1/2 organic ripe avocado
1/2 lime, juiced
2 Tbsp. organic crunchy peanut butter
2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
2-3 Tbsp. cold water (depending on your desired consistency)
1 Tbsp. gluten free soy sauce
1 Tbsp. toasted sesame oil
2 tsp grated fresh ginger
1 tsp raw organic honey
1 generous pinch of red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp Himalayan pink salt

DIRECTIONS:
1. Combine all peanut sauce ingredients into a blender, puree on highest speed for 15-20 second intervals until evenly combined.
2. Add more water, 1 Tbsp at a time, if you prefer a thinner consistency.

Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash with Creamy [HEALTHY] Peanut Sauce- clean eating and delicious! from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

About bluecrabmartini

I'm a veggie growing, wine drinking, Maryland mom, with a passion for real food and life by the Chesapeake Bay. Check out my blog: www.bluecrabmartini.com
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash with Creamy [HEALTHY] Peanut Sauce

  1. lulu says:

    I like spaghetti squash but have very few ideas what to do with it. Using it as the base for pad thai sounds like a winner.

    • Thanks! Since we cut out “regular” pasta over the last year, I’ve been trying to find creative ways to use spaghetti squash as an alternative. This one was a big hit in our house ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. totsymae1011 says:

    That’s not only a scrumptious looking dish, it’s a nice, sharp photo. Cool…

  3. I am so so so hungry right now! Thank you for sharing xo!

  4. Great idea!! I love how healthy this is! A fun twist on Thai food ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Thanks for sharing! I too love Pad Thai and spaghetti squash so your recipe is a win win! I’ll definitely have to give it a try. It looks too good to resist! Yum!

  6. Thanks for sharing! I too love Pad Thai and spaghetti squash so your recipe is a win win! Iโ€™ll definitely have to give it a try. It looks too good to resist! Yum!

  7. What an awesome idea! I’ve been trying to err away from real pasta myself lately, but I guess I can still make some of my favorite noodle dishes using spaghetti squash! Awesome idea and recipe, I’ll have to try this out :).

    • Thanks Rebecca! When we first cut out pasta I felt like I was so limited in what I could cook, but once I realized how versatile spaghetti squash is, it opened up a whole lot of possibilities.

  8. This is a gorgeous meal! I like that you’re using spaghetti squash instead of pasta. Thanks so much for sharing at Simple Supper Tuesday.

  9. Anne says:

    I have a spaghetti squash I need to use, and my husband is on a thai peanut kick right now. Yummy! Thanks for sharing through My Girlish Whims linky party.

  10. Sarah says:

    Definitely going to try this! Thanks!

  11. Shawna says:

    My daughter loves spaghetti squash and usually just puts spaghetti sauce on it, I can’t wait to show her this recipe. Thank you for sharing it on our Four Seasons Blog Hop. Pinning Now.

  12. Miz Helen says:

    Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash , what a special dish of food, it looks delicious. Thank you so much for sharing with Food of The World and hope you will continue the tour with us next month.
    Miz Helen

  13. Miz Helen says:

    Happy St. Patrickโ€™s Day to Ya and thanks so much for sharing your awesome post with Full Plate Thursday!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

  14. Pingback: Weekend Wandering | What I Loved This Week | Living Well Spending Less

  15. Four Seasons Blog Hop hosts loved your Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash so much that it will be featured on our party this week (Wednesday night). Thanks so much for sharing.

  16. Pingback: Four Seasons Blog Hop #42 (March 20 2014) | GUAI SHU SHU

  17. Kathy says:

    What a pretty dish! I love Spaghetti Squash, can’t wait to try this. I’m featuring on That’s Fresh Friday this week.

  18. Oh man. Y’all are speaking my language with this dish, and like you, I fell in love with it at first bite… and have subsequently eaten lots of really good and really BAD renditions on this classic. Y’all’s take with spaghetti squash sounds DIVINE, and I cannot wait to try this for myself!

    ALSO, this was one of my favorites from last week’s That’s Fresh Friday Link-Up, so I’m sharing it on my blog tonight! I hope y’all don’t mind!

    Happy cooking to you and happy almost Friday!

  19. Pingback: SGBC presents That's Fresh Friday Link-Up #17 // The Speckled Palate

  20. CJ Huang says:

    Thanks for sharing this pad thai with us on Five Friday Finds! I’m liking how you used spaghetti squash too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you can stop by again this week!

  21. vegetarianmamma says:

    I love the addition of spag squash! How smart! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope your week is great! Can’t wait to see what you link up this week!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  22. Pingback: Roasted Spaghetti Squash Primavera with Pesto Cream Sauce | Blue Crab Martini

Leave a Reply

