Coconut & Clementine Paleo Ice Cream

Coconut & Clementine Ice Cream from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

This week we endured snow day #1,345,987 of the season. Though not thrilled by the never-ending arctic weather, we decided to make the best of it and have some fun. We watched Frozen (I’m probably the only mom on the planet that hadn’t seen it yet), played in the snow, and we made ice cream.

Several birthdays ago Shaun gave me an ice cream maker. However, it’s sat mostly dormant because of the healthier lifestyle we’ve adopted since then. Until now. On our snow day, I rescued it from it’s lonely place in the cabinet and put it to work making this Coconut & Clementine Paleo Ice Cream.

Coconut & Clementine Ice Cream from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

My Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker is back in business!

Growing up I loved those orange dreamsicle ice cream bars- the ones with the sweet orange popsicle shell that covered creamy vanilla ice cream. I would carefully nibble away the orange, piece by piece, until the vanilla started to melt down my arm. They were a tasty treat back then, but the artificial ingredients and refined sugar make them a no-go in our house today. I wanted my kids to experience the same amazing flavors I remember from my childhood, but without all of the toxic ingredients.

Coconut & Clementine Ice Cream from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

This Coconut & Clementine Paleo Ice Cream is healthy, delicious, and full of orange dreamsicle flavor. Coconut milk provides the base for the ice cream and it makes for a super rich and creamy texture. The sweet and tangy flavors of clementines mix with the vanilla and honey to bring just the right amount of sweetness and zest.

Although we are all eager for Spring to arrive (any day now), I’m glad we got to have this special snow day together as a family. Happy memories and happy (healthy) bellies!

Coconut & Clementine Ice Cream from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

Coconut & Clementine Paleo Ice Cream

INGREDIENTS:

2 cans of coconut milk (full fat), room temperature
2 clementines, juiced & zested
1-2 Tbsp. organic raw honey (depending on how sweet you prefer)
2 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract
small pinch of pink Himalayan salt

DIRECTIONS:

1. Add the coconut milk to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment. Whisk on high speed for about 5 minutes, or until small peaks begin to form.
2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, stir together the clementine juice, clementine zest, honey, vanilla, and salt.
3. Once the coconut milk has finished whisking, reduce the mixer speed to low and slowly add in the other ingredients. Whisk only until combined.
4. Place ice cream batter into the refrigerator for 1-2 hours, until chilled thoroughly.
5. Use an ice cream mixer to freeze the batter and transform it into ice cream. If you don’t have an ice cream mixer, you can freeze the batter, stirring every 30 minutes, until the desired consistency is reached.

Paleo Coconut & Clementine Ice Cream from www.BlueCrabMartini.com

About bluecrabmartini

I'm a veggie growing, wine drinking, Maryland mom, with a passion for real food and life by the Chesapeake Bay. Check out my blog: www.bluecrabmartini.com
This entry was posted in Sweets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Coconut & Clementine Paleo Ice Cream

  1. game cheat says:

    Great site, stick with it!

  2. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your website? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users
    would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you
    present here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Appreciate it!

  3. This sounds yummy! It’s so hard to find good frozen paleo treats πŸ˜‰

  4. plutrell says:

    This sounds really good whether on the Paleo or not! Thanks for sharing on the Thursday Blog Hop!!

  5. jugglingrealfoodandreallife says:

    Hi there! I’m stopping in from Thursdays Favorite Things today. I’m so glad that I found you. You and I share the same thoughts on food. This recipe sounds like perfection to me. Such good flavor and ingredients I can feel good about feeding my family. I love the clementine bowl as well. So clever! I would love if you would share this at my party Let’s Get Real which goes live at 5EST today. I’m looking forward to reading lots more.

  6. Liz Lewis says:

    I saw the word “coconut” on the “That’s Fresh Friday” linkup, and I clicked on this immediately. This looks DELICIOUS!! I don’t have an ice cream maker, but I’m also thinking I could freeze it then blend in my food processor…?

    • Hi Liz! You could definitely pull this off without an ice cream maker. I would just pop it in the freezer and stir every half hour or so until it’s at the consistency that you would like. Enjoy πŸ™‚

  7. Oh yum… this looks divine. I love those dreamcicle bars! This looks like a much better alternative. Found you through Let’s Get Real πŸ™‚

  8. Emily says:

    I am headed to the grocery to get everything to make this, sounds super yummy!

  9. The recipe looks great. It will be a sure fire hit in my house, especially if I serve it in the tangerine peel like you did.

  10. Kenneth Goh says:

    Looking at the ingredients, i know I will definitely like it. Thanks for sharing with 4 seasons blog hop. cheers and have a nice day.

  11. Oh my goodness that looks delicious! Thanks for sharing it at the Happiness is Homemade link party this week!

  12. Organized 31 says:

    What a fun activity for the kids and what a delicious (and healthy) treat. Thank you for sharing at Inspire Us Thursday on Organized 31.

  13. Miz Helen says:

    We just love our ice cream at the Cottage and can’t wait to try your awesome Coconut Clementine Ice Cream, it looks delicious! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope you are having a great week.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  14. This looks and sounds fabulous. Pinning to try this summer! Thanks so much for sharing at Simple Supper Tuesday.

  15. Nicky says:

    This looks delicious. I adore Orange Creamiscles and would love this too. Thanks for sharing this at the Let’s Get Real Friday Link Party. I hope you’ll join us again this week.

  16. Monzanita says:

    Oh wow- I’m pinning this for later, I have been craving orange Julius but I’ve been a bit lactose intolerant from my pregnancy. This will be perfect after I make it to the store!

  17. I need an ice cream maker looks yummy! Thanks for linking up with My Favorite Things party! Stop by anytime! & hope to see you again this week. Theresa @DearCreatives

  18. CJ Huang says:

    yum! This looks like a perfect summery treat. Now if only Mother Nature would cooperate. πŸ™‚ I’d love if you could share this with us on Five Friday Finds today. πŸ™‚

  19. BeBetsy says:

    Looks wonderful! Visiting from Morsels of LIfe with CJ! Please come by and see us at BeBetsy. You can create your gallery and link up all your yummy creations! Best wishes ~ Sharon and Denise

  20. Thanks for sharing your yummy post at my Say G’Day Saturday linky party. I am featuring it this week.

    Hope you can join me again this weekend!

    Best wishes,
    Natasha in Oz

  21. ctrochelman says:

    Oooh I LOVE these flavors and the simple ingredients you used in this ice cream. So delicious! Thanks for bringing it to the SNF link party!!

  22. Pingback: Butter Pecan Ice Cream (pssst- it’s Paleo!) | Blue Crab Martini

  23. vegetarianmamma says:

    Sounds SO refreshing~ Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! πŸ™‚

    Hope your week is great! Can’t wait to see what you link up this week!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  24. When I saw the title I was immediately intrigued by how you could have paleo ice cream then i saw the coconut milk! When it stops snowing I am going to give this one a try! Thanks so much for sharing πŸ™‚

  25. Wonderful work! This is the type of information that are supposed to be shared across the internet.
    Disgrace on the search engines for not positioning this post higher up!
    Come on over and discuss with my web site
    . Thank you =)

  26. Pingback: Coconut Clementine Ice Cream | Vegan Recipe Pins

Leave a Reply

